Family, Viewpoint

Apple in Education: My Take

Okay, so I am an Apple fanboy. I own all the products, I hate using my PC at work and I asked for iTunes gift cards for X-mas. Apple provides and engages my ‘geekness’ in all their gadgets and technology but to be honest they are only pieces of technology that make life a little easier. Today…Apple came out with iBooks 2, iBooks Author and iTunes U.

These 3 products will change the education world…forever. And in my opinion, not a moment too soon. Education is a laughable topic as it takes a back seat in funding and investment. Teachers rarely get the respect they deserve and do so much with so little. My family and I, unfortunately, live in a state which is ranked near the bottom in terms of education. This ranking is quite concerning for me as a parent of a 2 and 4 year old.

Apple’s product release today brings hope. Apple is putting curriculum building materials into the hands of author’s and teacher’s so they can build a new era of content and effortlessly bring it to students. I’m thrilled about these products as I, as a parent, plan to leverage these tools to help teach my kids even if not yet integrated into his or her school(s).

Check out the keynote speech here:

Apple in Education Keynote

Later,

Derek

Leave a Reply

